Tags

, , , ,

The other night, my husband walked up to the t.v. in the Family Room which is considered My Guy’s t.v and turned it off.  He took our son and headed down to the basement to watch the Winnipeg Jets on the big screen.  Half way down the stairs my son took a tantrum.

A tantrum for him is squealing while grinding his teeth, jumping up and down, and  wringing his hands so tightly together he is cutting the circulation off.

I could hear my husband raise his voice, which he rarely, rarely ever does and was telling him to stop it.  Of course, my husband was fearful that our son would take a tumble on the stairs in his momentary fit.

Once they settled downstairs, my son was whimpering because his feelings were hurt, as he was ‘yelled’ at, in his mind.  He doesn’t like loud, animated voices as he thinks that means anger or someone is upset.  As a matter of fact, a crying baby can set him off because he is so in tune with someone else’s feelings.

I went downstairs and told my husband, do you know what just happened?  You turned off his t.v. and you took him downstairs, but never once did you communicate to him what was happening.  In his actions to include him, which he absolutely loves watching the hockey games with his step-dad,  my husband forgot to say ‘Hey guy, wanna go down and watch the Jets together’.  Something that simple could have saved ‘the fit’. 

My Guy had something to say and since he can’t say it in words, he has to say it in actions.  My husband said it in actions and forgot to use words. 

Language is about the input and the output on so many levels.  Language is a marvel in itself and one we take for granted. 

Having a My Guy in my life has made me more patient with those that struggle, whether it be understanding the English language, deafness or disability.

