In reflection of yesterday’s post, I realized I like the comforts of home.  I like to surround myself with what I know.  That doesn’t mean I don’t like a challenge, as a matter of fact I love a challenge, I thrive on them and I even pride myself in accepting change.

Like all things, change does happen.  If it hadn’t been for this journey, I would never have met the amazing individuals I have as Respite Workers.  I would never have learned how patient I am with individuals who are ‘underdogs’ and how impatient I am for the genuine ignorant.  I am not sure I could have loved as deeply as I do.  I never would have given as much as I have and will continue to do with people I know well and complete strangers that just need a little kindness.  Most importantly, I am not sure I would have ever met the most amazing man in the world for me.  He is my Mrs. Thatcher’s husband.  He stands by me no matter what, even with that brain of mine that drives him crazy.  He is the calm in the centre of my inner storm.

So as the analogy goes, it was to be a trip to this remote place in the world, but somehow it became my home.  I miss the normalcy of what my life was suppose to have, what I see others have.  The funny thing is I know there are quite a few around me, who are envious of what I have. 

You can never go home again, but the truth is you can never leave home, so it’s all right.  ~Maya Angelou

